Taymor's Seasonal Reviews Fall 2015 - Episode 2

by taymor

taymor
Bored of life.
Writers
Posts: 106
Threads: 7
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 5
10-25-2015, 11:14 AM (This post was last modified: 10-25-2015, 01:31 PM by taymor.)
#23831 (1)
Hey all,
Welcome to my episode 2 reviews for Fall 2015! (Thinly veiled Japanese propaganda campaign.) This week I'll be doing the format that I think I'll be keeping throughout the season, for a balance of quality and my sanity.

I get all of my info about the shows from Anilist. I'll try to use both the English and romaji names in all my titles, where they're available. I can also use the Japanese names if anyone wants them for some reason. Also, if I appear to have the power to see the future and write the name of a character who is yet to be named in the show, it’s because I read the character sections of some of the show’s websites. (Or rarely, have already seen the newest episode and have forgotten when I met a character.)

Before I start, I'd just like to say that I often enjoy a lot of shows that others really hate, and I haven't read any of the source material or other reviews for any of these shows, so if you see any unpopular opinions, that's just me being a wierdo.

CAUTION: even in the non-spoiler sections, I will be expecting that the reader has either watched the previous episode, or doesn't care about spoilers.


Anti-Magic Academy: The 35th Test Platoon / Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f706c...732e6a7067]
Genres: Action, Ecchi, Fantasy, Harem, Military, School

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

Wow. This episode was awesome. They really managed to explain everything that was left up in the air last episode. I'm super impressed with this episode, and I think I'm really going to love the rest of this series.
From the get go, I was expecting this to be a flashback filled background episode. I was wrong. We got a little bit of background on Ohtori explaining her little flip out at the end of the last episode, but it was so well placed and fitting with the episode's plot that it remained engaging and didn't feel like filler at all.
This episode was really high action, and it showed off the strengths of the characters. It also managed to add depth to the characters, in the middle of a high action scene, which is pretty astounding.
On the character side, we're formally introduced to a couple more in this episode, which is awesome, because they're going to be my favourite characters, I can tell already.
Overall amazing episode. Got some insight into future happenings, and it fully explained the last episode. And that action scene was amazing.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

Like I said in the non-spoiler section, this episode was awesome. It turns out the magic item deal the group broke into last episode was for a fragment, which was in turn used by a necromancer to summon a huge warrior mech thing with a railgun. The speech the guy gives during the summoning is pretty badass. When Ohtori finds she can't beat the warrior regularly, she's forced to bring out her secret weapon. It turns out there are a few people who are eligible to become what're called “Witch Hunters.” Ohtori is one of them, and she made a contract with something named Vlad, who I guess was some sort of vampiric monster before becoming guns. Ohtori refuses to make a full contract with Vlad though, so she can't use his full power unless she gives him blood. We then learn who the second eligible witch hunter in the group is when Lapis forms a contract with MC, and he gets a fancy suit of armour and a coolio sword. Since he just went with the contract thing, he could use Lapis fully right away, and did so in order to beat up the baddie and save the day. That's a lot of stuff for one episode. Like, if this was DBZ that would've taken at least ten episodes of screaming to occur.
Here are some cool screenshots.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f746e...6d2e6a7067]
Turns out lapis was a good girl after all.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f776c...792e6a7067]
She's a real qt.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f646e...612e6a7067]
Awesome summoning ritual
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6a6d...6a2e6a7067]
Ohtori really seems to hate Vlad, maybe the weapons are witch related? Obviously they use some form of magic anyways.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6761...6c2e6a7067]
Kyuubey style make a contract become a magical girl Lapis.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6b6a...6d2e6a7067]
that fight was badass, and made MC look coolio.


Beautiful Bones -Sakurako's Investigation / Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6279...712e6a7067]
Genres: Mystery

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

Woah, this was an upsetting episode. Not because it was bad though, quite the contrary. It was really well done. The plot of the episode was dark though, like really dark. Looks like they'll be doing one case per episode, CSI style. This one starts with a really creepy scene, and that carries through the whole time.
This episode had a bit of action, which is neat for a crime drama. It also dealt with some pretty dark and gruesome topics which kept me interested throughout.
I like shows with strong female leads, and this is definitely one of those. The MC dude doesn't even really have any strengths, and he's more or less an observer on Sakurako. That's even more obvious in this episode, he doesn't even try to figure the mystery out. That's alright though, she's the focus of the show, being the bone collector and all. I'm thinking the magical girl transformation scene from the first episode will be a continued theme, because she did it again in this episode.
They seem to have figured out the sound mixing in this episode, I didn't notice any glaring errors or anything out of place in this one. Hopefully that continues.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

Yeah, as mentioned, dark episode. It starts out with a little girl covered in blood walking down the street after being pushed out a window by a bloodied hand. The MC, who decided to go to the convenience store for food, sees her and brings her to the police station. They've got no idea how to find the girl's parents, so they find Sakurako. She notices signs of abuse, but it brings no leads. Conveniently, that adorable grill from last episode happens to walk by and knows the little girl. She brings them all to the girl's house, in which they find the mother murdered. Yep, it only gets darker. Sakurako sees a bottle, and ends up finding a baby in a floor hatch in heat stroke. While trying to revive the baby, the Father returns covered in blood with a knife. He stabs the cop on the way in, then almost does again inside but MC pulls out some wicked moves and takes him down first. Sakurako figures he's a drug addict, and is probably the one who hurt the little girl. The episode basically ends with Sakurako's recount of events. Beyond creepy by the way. They literally put child abuse, spousal abuse, drug addiction, orphanage, murder, and child neglect all in one episode. How can this even be topped on the dark topic scale.
Pretty scary pictures.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7669...632e6a7067]
Already the darkest thing this season.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7862...792e6a7067]
MC and the cops are getting nowhere, the head to Sakurako's house
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7066...6e2e6a7067]
Sakurako finds the girl's arm was broken at some point, likely due to abuse.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6262...712e6a7067]
After no leads are found about the abuse, it turns out the qt from last episode know's the girl and takes them to her house.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f747a...762e6a7067]
They find the mother dead in the kitchen, hunched over.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7766...6f2e6a7067]
Druggy dad of the year busts in, stabs a cop, and gets taken down by MC while Sakurako saves a baby.



Chivalry of a Failed Knight / Rakudai Kishi no Eiyuutan


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6d65...792e6a7067]
Genres: Action, Fantasy, Romance, School

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

That OP is awesome, that episode was awesome. I'm not gonna spoil it, but wow. The fan-service is alive and well, and I'm loving it. I don't know why this show doesn't have harem in the tags, but it probably should. This is going to be all about the grills after all. There's another tag it should have, but I'll leave that for the spoiler section. There wasn't really any action in this episode, but I was laughing the whole time anyways so its whatever.
Speaking of the OP, it's really cool, and it might be my favourite this season. It's not revolutionary, or anything really artsy. It's just a regular action OP, but its REALLY well done.
I'll be honest, there really isn't much to say about this episode without spoiling things, cause not a whole lot really happened, other than fan-service. If you aren't watching this, and you're anything like me, this is gonna be a fun show so hop on it.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

Imma just say it, the missing tag I mentioned in the non-spoiler review is incest. Imouto-chan showed up this episode, and damn, she went right for it. Like, she literally made out with MC right in the middle of a crowd. I loved it. She's like the perfect little sister. She even calls him Onii-sama. We also had an Oppai kouhai, and more of the master-servant stuff from the first episode. Big red thought it would be alright since MC is blood related with his sister, but man, was she ever wrong. I guess she figured she had to make up ground, so she capped off the episode with a bath room back massage, with boobs.
Pretty pictures Onii-sama edition
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7169...672e6a7067]
Imouto introduction.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f676b...732e6a7067]
Oppai Kouhai
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7665...662e6a7067]
I'm in love, little sisters are truly a gift.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f716e...7a2e6a7067]
Big red gotta make her comeback somehow~




Comet Lucifer (also the romaji title)


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7970...752e6a7067]
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Mecha

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

This was a pretty cool episode, mostly just a set up for future plot bits, but I guess that's always pretty necessary. The action scenes were pretty cool, mech fights are fun. There's some weird magic stuff going on that hasn't really been explained yet. We get an introduction to the girl that came out of the crystal in the last episode. There's also some stuff about the military guys we saw last time.
I don't know what it is, but this series isn't super exciting to me. It just doesn't seem to have the right balance of action and dialogue, and the pacing seems kind of weird. I'd normally congratulate a show for getting through dialogues quickly, but I just feel that they tried to go too fast, and things aren't really explained well before they happen.
It might get better later, but I don't really know where this show is going. There's a bunch of relationships that just don't make sense, like Kaon and Roman. I get that they're being forced to marry by their families, which we learned in episode 1. But it seems like Roman is completely oblivious to Sogo's relationship with Kaon. It just doesn't really sit right.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

This episode starts in the same cave the last one ended in. The white robot, which turned out to be something to do with the blue haired girl (Felia,) beats up the Captain, who showed up in his mech. The group escapes the cave and goes home, Feila is left at Sogo's house, and Kaon stays with her. Sogo finds a weird rock, which turns out to be a worm thing, which turns out to be the white mecha in disguise. Felia doesn't seem to be fluent in Japanese, so she just copies words she hears. Its kind of like Suu from Monmosu. Sogo gets called a lolicon after Felia runs to him wearing his shirt.On the military side, the captain gets a new mech, and goes to meet a prisoner which I guess he wants to have on his team. The episode ends with a weird scene with who I guess is the commander of the military saying something about peace on the home planet.
Pictures of my screen.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6c64...702e6a7067]
White mech is OP
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6474...6a2e6a7067]
Roman should really just let Sogo marry her instead.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6779...6d2e6a7067]
qt w/ pie
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6379...702e6a7067]
qt in a shirt.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7677...622e6a7067]
Aand a crazy kid with some weird power to do with his muscles.



Heavy Object


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6369...692e6a7067]
Genres: Action, Mecha, Sci-Fi

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

Woah, this episode got right into the action. Like, the last episode meant pretty much nothing, all it did was serve to explain the situation. This one starts high action and doesn't let up. That's pretty cool, I often find shows like this don't have the means to keep action going for twenty consecutive minutes, but this one does.
I like the concept of the show, but the look of the objects still gets to me. Who really thinks a big ball of armour can survive a nuke, then continue fighting and destroy a naval fleet?
That brings me to something I don't like about this show. It breaks rules that really shouldn't be. First, as a general rule, even in the gundam series, mechs can't really just replace an army. The Objects in this show are like gods, they literally can only destroy each other. That's pretty lame and makes the thing totally unrelatable. Second, the show breaks its own rules about the state of war in this episode, which is dumb, and a thing I really hate in Anime. You really shouldn't make a set of rules about something just to break them.
/rant. Overall, this was a really cool episode with plenty of action. The MC faced his fears and did a thing. They left if on a mad cliffhanger though, so I'm excited for next week's episode. Don't let my rant discourage you, this is a good show, I just wanted to explain some of the things I didn't like about where the series is going.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

Okay, I've calmed down now, no more ranting for today. On to the spoilers!
Right, so this episode goes right into the fighting, and the combatants are the princess and a weird blue spider shaped object. The spider object is more agile in mountainous terrain, like the terrain they're fighting in. As such, it finds its way behind the baby magnum (that's the white one.) The baby magnum is destroyed, princess martini or whatever ejects and gracefully floats into the barren wastelend. She sends out an SOS to bait the enemy away from the base, because (and this is where they broke the rules) the blue thing is destroying the base and killing people. MC sees this and goes full out white knight mode, running into the snow to save her. He finds her in a bukkake circle, and shoots her assailants before the first loa- er shot. Nope, still sounds dirty. One guy is still alive, shoots a grenade at him, his buddy tackles him down a hill and saves him. After regaining concious, martini gives the typical why did you save me speech, and they run away from the blue thing into a cave, blowing up the entrance. After a clever boob grab, MC tells the group they're going to find a way to destroy the (indestructible) object. This right here, that's rule number two broken this episode, I mean come on.
Pictures of my broken dreams.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f687a...642e6a7067]
She's still a qt
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6f61...722e6a7067]
See? Bukkake circle, I wasn't lying.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f797a...692e6a7067]
Yes, blowing up the entrance to a cave you're in from just ten feet inside the entrance with 5 kilos of C4 is a great idea
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f616c...622e6a7067]
Breaking rules every ten minutes.



Lance N’ Masques


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f756f...762e6a7067]
Genres: Fantasy

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

I don't know if I really like this show. It seems to be a weird cross between SOL and action, and it doesn't seem to work too well. The characters are kind of meh, the only one I kind of like is the blonde girl with blue eyes. The whole premise seems to hinge on the female lead being completely unknowing of the obvious points before her. MC literally changes into “knight lancer” all the time right in front of her, but she never catches on. I'd mentioned in a previous review that I like strong female leads, but this one is really quite the opposite. Actually it seems like the only strong female in the show is the maid, and everyone's just scared of her.
The world of this show seems to be void of magic, but there's a talking horse. Well, I don't know if it actually talks so much as makes odd sounds, but at least one character understands, which is a bit odd for a show otherwise without magic.
This episode is pretty boring overall, the only actual action that happens is right near the end, and its very short and anticlimactic. We'll have to to if this gets any better by the third episode, I might end up dropping it.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

The story this episode is pretty lacking. Basically MC and his cronies have moved into the little girl's mansion, and they want to make sure she doesn't realize he's a knight. Near the end, MC goes to an office to see the little girl's father, is denied, tries to fight the guy who denied him. The dude breaks his lance after a single lunge, and MC goes home. The brother of the maid who used to work at the little girl's house has in the mean time beaten up blonde girl and seems to have kidnapped the little girl.
Pictorials
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6974...672e6a7067]
I mean really, how can she not get it by now?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6e70...662e6a7067]
Only qt in the show.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6579...742e6a7067]
Child abuse.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7077...722e6a7067]
Nope, I didn't flip the image, someone really thought it was a good idea to flip a few frames for effect. Protip: it wasn't. And I mean really, one motion and the fight was over? Were the animators too expensive that day?



Ore ga Ojou-sama Gakkou ni “Shomin Sample” Toshite Gets-Sareta Ken (Please Japan, shorten these things)


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6378...732e6a7067]
Genres: Comedy, Ecchi, Harem, Romance, School

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

What even is this show. This is astoundingly stupid and I love it. This is one of those that I could spoil the whole thing here, you could read it, and still laugh the whole episode. The story and what actually happens are really unimportant.
Basically, nothing much different happens in this episode than the last. Just a different set of antics. The cute orange haired girl still wants to be the center of attention, but hates when she receives attention.
The harem bits of the show start to show in this episode. I guess not a whole lot else really went on though. See, that's alright in this type of show, because the whole point is comedy. When I get an episode like the latest Lance'n'Masques where nothing happens, but it should for the type of series it is, it ruins it for me. These guys know that their chow is purely for comedic value, so they can make episodes with little to no plot development, and that's alright.
So yeah, another great episode in the land of short skirts and cute grills. I'd pretend to have a muscle fetish if it meant living there.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

I really don't even know what to spoil, honestly. I guess there was a party where Yellow teaches MC to dance by spinning widly. Oh, and they all ate cup ramen and thought it was magical.
How could I forget my favourite part? MC tricks orange into thinking she could stop time, then she flashes her panties and tries to kiss him because she thinks he's frozen in time. Beautiful.
Beautiful beautiful pictures of scenes
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6279...682e6a7067]
Always focusing on the important parts of school life.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f756b...702e6a7067]
Dat booty, she's truly a legend of sports.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6f6d...612e6a7067]
I wish cup ramen was this amazing to me, I could save so much money.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6961...6e2e6a7067]
Pro dance star
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f656d...792e6a7067]
I'm just amazed; this scene is like, the peak of deception.



Seraph of the End: Battle in Nagoya (Season 2)


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7361...722e6a7067]
Genres: Drame, Shounen, Supernatural, Vampire

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

I really liked this episode. The plot of the series is starting to get pretty deep and complex. This and the last episode have shown some of the infighting on both sides of the war, which is really interesting.
I just can't get over how pretty this show is. Especially whenever the characters have demon dreams. This episode is mostly a set up episode for what I'm assuming will be the rest of the plot of this season. The action scenes are always right on point and really well made, which is something not only in this episode, but in the whole series.
Mikaela is adorable and I love him. I don't think he even said any words in this episode, but he was there so I figured I had to mention that.
Since this is carried over from a prior season, there aren't any new characters or anything introduced yet this season. I'm hoping we'll get to see some of the other vampire hunting squads, and maybe follow an organized vampire group for a while.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

Like I said, not a whole lot going on here, this was kind of a set up episode. Nonetheless, we start with some cool horseman of john killing by bow dude, who's apparently already mastered using his demon weapon. Then, Yu starts his contract, and after telling his demon that he wants to be friends (I don't really know why this worked) he made her agree and was fine. Then the other sword guy does his contract, but his goes a bit rougher. He ends up killing himself in a dream in order to confuse his demon and win his fight with her, forming the contract. I like the idea of needing to find a way to work with the demons, whether its by beating them with strength, or just offering them something they want. Meanwhile at vampire HQ, they're having a meeting about the Seraph of the End, and Tepes is under pressure to stop it. Mikael is there being a qt.
Cool Photographs
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7379...6d2e6a7067]
Sweet bow dude, I want one
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f766b...772e6a7067]
Even dying is pretty in this show!
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7571...772e6a7067]
I want a qt demon girl friend!
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7472...742e6a7067]
Isn't the vampire society pretty new? How do they have such pretty architecture?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f646c...632e6a7067]
Cool sword fan dude, too bad I got a big purple coffin.



Star Mu


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6b6c...662e6a7067]
Genres: Music, School, Shoujo, Slice of Life

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

Man, I'm not usually very into pure yaoi shows, and this is definitely one of those. I really like this one though, That might be because its a musical, so its extra flamboyant. The best part? They'll totally play it off the whole time as if its not even a little bit of a yaoi series. This episode is no expection to the yaoi dream. In the aftermath of being chosen for a star team, this episode is mostly about the team practising. For being an SOL show, this is actually a really entertaining episode.
The musical parts are top tier, and I love the vignettes of Ohtori.
I really wish I had been in the drama club when I went to school, it always seemed like it would be lots of fun. I was to nervous though >.<
There's a weird kind of competition that gets set up between the Kao council as result of the events at the end of the last episode. It looks like it'll be a neat little story.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

As I said, this episode was mostly about the practise. The group did a bit of an improv play, and MC ended up in the center of it. Being the newest to drama, he was a little overwhelmed but pulled it off. The conflict I mentioned is that most of the Kao council doesn't agree with Ohtori's star team choice. The blonde guy sings a song near the end in a sort of Beatles esque style. It was neato.
Flamboyantly fabricated screenshots
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f646d...6d2e6a7067]
Ohtori is best girl boy
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6f79...612e6a7067]
I always feel like, somebody's watching me.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f797a...6c2e6a7067]
Pro acting skills, 2real5me
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6469...6d2e6a7067]
Where did he find acid at this time of night?



The Perfect Insider / Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6174...622e6a7067]
Genres: Drama, Mystery, Seinen

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

I know I mentioned it last time, but the OP for this show is awesome. Even if you aren't going to watch this show, I would suggest watching the OP cause its real cool.
I can fully understand not wanting to watch this show though, cause its slow as heck, and to be honest, doesn't make much sense at all. Things just happen, and they're not really explained. I also can't say I really like the art. To be fair, I probably won't keep watching this, but I give everything three episodes, so I'll give this at least one more as well.
More weird stuff happened again, but again, I'm left lost and completely in the dark. Its alright for a show to be a mystery and not diclose eveything, but this one really goes overboard, there's like a girl in a computer, or something, and there were mushrooms involved, and everyone is camping, I don't even know.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

This episode is about going on a camping trip I guess. They're on an island with a lab, where a girl lives without any access to anything exterior. I don't really get it, so I don't really know what else to tell ya. Other than that, nothing really happens as far as I can tell. Other than what I can only assume means that the thirteen year old girl in the box frequently goes out with an old man.
Pictures, I guess.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6267...752e6a7067]
Cool OP
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7866...622e6a7067]
See, this is what I mean, why does this girl have a butler? Everyone seems to know her, why?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7671...732e6a7067]
This girl lives in a box I guess, don't really get why though.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7467...792e6a7067]
I thought they liked the director, why did they need to trick him to let them in?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7470...6b2e6a7067]
Never go against the head director's will when you're in a creepy lab controlled by a computer. I mean come on, that's like rule No. 1.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6665...722e6a7067]
Pedophile, but why is that important to the story, and why is the girl outside?



The Testament of Sister New Devil Burst


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7265...772e706e67]
Genres: Action, Ecchi, Fantasy, Romance, Shounen

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

You know, I don't even know what this show's about anymore. The first season had a defined goal, this one seems to be just about fan-service. I mean, that's cool, I guess, but it would be nice to get some form of plot. This episode sort of starts what might maybe be a story, but its still mostly about boob-shots.
I've always really enjoyed the action scenes in this show, and this episode had a few. One of  them was really cool because it introduced  new kind of enemy.
The blonde girl/guy that follows MC around in this season for reasons unknown is really cute. I think their my favourite character based almost solely on looks, but they're a bit more active in this episode, and their personality is adorable as well.
I'm pretty excited to see where this new little plot thing goes in future episodes, but I do think they could probably cut back on the fan-service just a little bit.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

This episode takes place during the school sports festival, where MC assumes that whoever took over people last time will be doing it again at the festival. Everything's going normally until a tornado abruptly shows up in the middle of a cheerleader squad. MC beats up the tornado then runs inside and finds Tachibana, the qt blonde kid, who thinks MC is trying to kill them. They have a short fight, tachibana ends up collapsed, but MC doesn't hurt them. He find's the councellor lady instead, who won't let him past. Assuming she's the culprit, he runs when another teacher comes in to slow up the councellor. Turns out though that the teacher is a god, the ones who made the heros and are trying to destroy the demons. Since MC is no longer really a hero, he starts fighting the god. At the end, he gets his arm blown off after the god takes yuki's little sister hostage.
Fan-service photos.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6473...762e6a7067]
Adorable! I love this character.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7962...682e6a7067]
Couldn't make it an episode of sister new devil without blatant fan-service, what was in those balloons?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7072...612e6a7067]
Random tornado, why did someone think this was the best way to cause a ruckus?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7065...6c2e6a7067]
The cutest demon ever.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f646d...752e6a7067]
Demon teacher.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7a65...612e6a7067]
Evil teacher. I guess that means the other teacher isn't a baddy?


The Asterisk War / Gakusen Toshi Asterisk


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f786c...7a2e6a7067]
Genres: Action, Ecchi, Fantasy, School, Sci-Fi, Shounen

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

Huh, this had literally the same second episode as Chivalry of a Failed Knight. This one doesn't have a harem tag either though. This one got a bit of action at least though.
There's a new girl, she's a qt. Mind you all the girls so far are pretty cute overall. This was still kind of a set up episode, but I guess that's sort of a trend for second episodes. I really like the action scenes in this show, and the ones in this episode were pretty cool. They showed off some of the Lux weapons that were mentioned last time.
Also as mentioned last time, Ayato went for his Lux Ogre weapon this time, and that was a pretty cool scene.
I don't know why this show doesn't have a romance tag of some sort. I guess Ecchi sort of covers it though.
This is gonna be neat, seeing if this and Chivalry have the same source material, that is. I don't even think I'll be upset if they continue to be identical, I like both so its all cool.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

This episode gives us another glimpse into Ayato's past, with his sister. Then we pick up where last episode left off, with the burly dude harassing the princess. MC steps in and stops the fighting, and makes the princess promise to show him around. He meets an old friend in class, and they argue about who is going to show him around. They both end up going, and the two girls get ambushed when MC goes for drinks. They deal with the attackers, then kind of make up. MC goes to get his Ogre Lux. There's another candidate, he goes for the same weapon MC wants. The weapon rejects him and starts attacking Ayato. He tames It though by catching it mid swing and telling it that he too hates annoyances. Kind of a weird method, but OK.
Proshots.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6166...6a2e6a7067]
Birth of a siscon.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7a6d...732e6a7067]
adorable pretty princess
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f716a...6c2e6a7067]
New grill looks tired.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7369...612e6a7067]
Why did we give the smallest girl the biggest gun?
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7169...692e6a7067]
Autonomous attack sword.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f6370...6d2e6a7067]
Seductive Class prez.



Owarimonogatari


[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7769...632e706e67]
Genres: Mystery, Supernatural

Spoiler-free review

Spoiler

Lame, they aren't doing 12 48 minute long episodes. I guess they just put the first two episodes into the first one. That technically makes this my first third episode review. I don't really think I'm a good source for monogatari reviews. I mean, SHAFT could literally post a 20 minute loop of Hachikuji jumping, and I'd watch and love it.
As mentioned in the last episode, this one's about the return of the student that hates Arararararararararagi. Some really weird stuff happens, as usual for Monogatari.
You know, the only character in this show I don't like is Tsubasa. That may be a shock to some, as she is the only verifiable catgirl in the show, but I don't think she's a very good character.
There's a bit of action in this episode, strangely enough. Oikura really looks like hachikuji to me, but that's probably just the pigtails. She's got a bit of an odd personality as well, just kind of hates everything.
I'm waiting for more fire sisters or Hachikuji, maybe even Nadeko before I call this a good part of Monogatari. I'm happy its a season thing though, not one of those movie things.
Spoilers and screenshots

Spoiler

In this episode, Araragi finds a letter in his shoe locker that turns out to be a riddle. He explains that it's the Monty Hall problem. Then we go back to the high school, where Araragi disobeys Tsubasa and goes to talk to Oikura anyways. She tells him he's a terrible person, and eventually Senjyogahara shows up and they have a fight. Essentially, Oikura is probably going to be the “villain” of this arc. It could also be the other new girl though. Then, we go back to the letter, and the two go into a creepy house, or something. Turns out sleeves girl is hecka strong, and kicks in a door. Turns out Araragi's parents are both cops, huh. I guess she also has an effect on Araragi of making him say more than he wants to.
Pretty SHAFT engineered pictures.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f707a...772e6a7067]
The long sleeves thing is kind of cute.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7866...632e6a7067]
Alright Araragi, play it cool.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7865...6e2e6a7067]
He didn't play it cool.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f646a...612e6a7067]
Senjyogahara laying down the law.
[Image: 68747470733a2f2f752e706f6d662e69732f7178...682e6a7067]
See? Spooky house.



Quote:I am the bone of my keyboard
Critique is my body, and spoilers are my blood
I have created over a thousand words
Unknown to Death, Nor known to Life
Have withstood pain to create many screenshots
Yet, those hands will never hold anything
So as I pray, unlimited review works.

So yeah, that's how I wanna do the rest of the reviews. Lemme know if that's an acceptable format, or if you think I should change something. I was thinking I might just make this more of an episodic recap, where I just put the spoilers in the reviews, and make one review rather than two for each. I don't know how people are going to consume this though. Maybe people are reading the non-spoilers, then going to the spoilers only after the episode. Maybe they don't read the spoiler bits at all. Dunno, let me know what you're doing with it.

As a note, I typically use Episode 3 as my cut off point. If a show isn't appealing to me after three episodes, I'll drop it. This is looking like the case for the Perfect Insider, and maybe Lance 'N' Masques. If anyone really wants me to keep watching either of those, lemme know on this thread or the next, cause after I drop them I won't pick them back up.

I did this whole thing, including watching the episodes, and writing a story for the contest, in the last two days. Busy times. This week has been tough.

Please let me know what you think. I really enjoy doing this, and if you guys like it I’d love to keep writing these. As I said in the Pre-Season set, I’ll be reading the comments, and when I post the next set of reviews I’ll be adding edits to my reviews to reflect a more board broad opinion. Just as a reminder, please keep spoilers in spoiler tags, especially in the case of the season 2 shows. Also, if I made any spelling or grammar errors that I didn’t catch, don’t be afraid to let me know, I’ll love you for saving me the embarrassment.

not so secretly wants to marry Rii
[Image: 687474703a2f2f7075752e73682f6c7a4f5a562f...612e706e67]
[+] 2 users love taymor's post
Melancholy
すけべ
Admin
Posts: 3,870
Threads: 213
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 60
10-26-2015, 05:16 PM
#23968 (2)
Some more awesome reviews this week taymor! Thanks for taking the time to review all of these. :)

taymor
Bored of life.
Writers
Posts: 106
Threads: 7
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 5
10-26-2015, 05:55 PM
#23974 (3)
(10-26-2015, 05:16 PM)Senpai Wrote: Some more awesome reviews this week taymor! Thanks for taking the time to review all of these. :)

Thanks man! I really like writing these, it actually helps me understand the shows I'm watching a bit better so it's awesome for me as well. Haven't gotten many replies on these past two, but I think that's probably because a lot of people don't like watching stuff in season. I'll keep up until I get kicked out though, it's a fun time. :P

not so secretly wants to marry Rii
[Image: 687474703a2f2f7075752e73682f6c7a4f5a562f...612e706e67]
[+] 1 user loves taymor's post
taymor
Bored of life.
Writers
Posts: 106
Threads: 7
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 5
10-26-2015, 08:31 PM
#23998 (4)
(10-26-2015, 08:16 PM)inconspicuous Wrote: For what it's worth, I look forward to the reviews every week. I'd comment more, but there's not really much for me to say since we only have four shows in common (two of which are pretty unremarkable) and I'd probably be dropping Perfect Insider anyway.

That means a lot dude, thanks! Yeah I'll probably drop PI. Its just really confusing and hard to follow, and nothing seems to really happen.

not so secretly wants to marry Rii
[Image: 687474703a2f2f7075752e73682f6c7a4f5a562f...612e706e67]
Bushido Bob
Member
Kohai
Posts: 75
Threads: 4
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 2
10-26-2015, 10:01 PM
#24008 (5)
Nice to hear that Sakurako-san got better sound mixing, but is its soundtrack still indecisive as to what type of music it wants to be?

Also Osomatsu-san's second episode has a great penis joke. It's shaping up to be a great comedy with great voice acting.
You should really pick it up Taymor.